KENYA BROWN - Wednesday, December 2, 2020
The United States national team will finish 2020 with one more friendly as head coach Gregg Berhalter announced a MLS-laden 22-man roster for their game against El Salvador.

After going months without a game due to the COVID-19 outbreak, the national team will try to get through one last camp to wrap up the year and hope for a better oulook in 2021. Berhalter had a chance last month to check out the European-based players as they played a pair of friendlies. Now, it is the turn of the domestic players as most have wrapped the MLS season with their respective teams.

One non-MLS player included in this roster is CJ Dos Santos. The 20-year-old Benfica B goalkeeper is making his first appearance at the senior camp. Bill Hamid has made his return to the group while David Ochoa will try to make an impression to keep his name in the conversation among the goalkeeping corp.

While most of the players entering the game are uncapped, there are a few experienced ones in the fold. Paul Arriola is the most notable inclusion in the team. After going down earlier in the year with an ACL injury, the 33-time capped winger will be looking to make up for lost time. Walker Zimmerman, Kellyn Acosta, Sebastian Lletget, and Aaron Long are the other multi-capped players that have been brought into the camp.

One player that will be looking to make a huge impact during this camp is Brenden Aaronson. Following the Philadelphia Union's elimination from the playoffs, the midfielder will be heading to Austria to join up with Jesse Marsch and Red Bull Salzburg for the second half of the Bundesliga season. A strong performance in the friendly would give him a boost of confidence before heads across the Atlantic.

The United States is scheduled to play against El Salvador on Dec. 9 at Inter Miami CF stadium in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.


GOALKEEPERS: CJ Dos Santos (Benfica), Bill Hamid (DC United), David Ochoa (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS: Julian Araujo (LA Galaxy), Kyle Duncan (New York Red Bulls), Marco Farfan (Portland Timbers), Aaron Long (New York Red Bulls), Mark McKenzie (Philadelphia Union), Mauricio Pineda (Chicago Fire), Sam Vines (Colorado Rapids), Walker Zimmerman (Nashville SC)

MIDFIELDERS: Brenden Aaronson (Philadelphia Union), Kellyn Acosta (Colorado Rapids), Frankie Amaya (FC Cincinnati), Cole Bassett (Colorado Rapids), Sebastian Lletget (LA Galaxy)

FORWARDS: Ayo Akinola (Toronto FC), Efrain Alvarez (LA Galaxy), Paul Arriola (DC United), Daryl Dike (Orlando City), Djordje Mihailovic (Chicago Fire), Chris Mueller (Orlando City)

Email (will not appear on the site)


Join the YA Email Alert?

Comments are moderated and will be posted if they are on-topic and free of profanity, abuse and spam. HTML and links are not allowed.