BRIAN SCIARETTA - Monday, November 10, 2014
Jurgen Klinsmann today announced his U.S. national team roster for the upcoming friendlies against Colombia and Ireland.

The roster itself contains surprising inclusions by way of Miguel Ibarra and Jordan Morris who hail from the NASL and the NCAA respectively. There are also two teenagers on the roster with Rubio Rubin and Julian Green. Lee Nguyen will also make his first appearance with the team for the first time since 2007. Currently in the midst of an outstanding season with New England, Nguyen has emerged as an MVP candidate in 2014.

The roster also indicates that Jermaine Jones will place central defense again and that Fabian Johnson will also be used as a fullback.

In announcing the roster, Klinsmann made the point of saying that veterans are on the roster to help guide the younger players through the process.

"I think if you look at these veterans - Kyle Beckerman, DaMarcus Beasley, Nick Rimando, Jermaine Jones - I think those are all players that have to help get the younger players to another level," said Klinsmann. "It's literally their jobs; it's what we're asking. I know everybody is busy with themselves and wants to play and show what they have, but in a transition phase after a World Cup, having a year until you play that Gold Cup in July, we need these older players. Beasley is a very important player in this going forward, and Beckerman and Rimando. They have to show what it takes to become consistent and a real professional."

The U.S. team will take on Colombia at London's Craven Cottage on Friday November 14 and then Ireland four days later in Dublin.

GOALKEEPERS (4): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (9): DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks(Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Timmy Chandler (Eintracht Frankfurt), Greg Garza (Club Tijuana), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Jermaine Jones (New England Revolution), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)

MIDFIELDERS (6): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg), Julian Green (Hamburg), Alfredo Morales (Ingolstadt), Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution)

FORWARDS (6): Jozy Altidore (Sunderland), Miguel Ibarra (Minnesota United FC), Jordan Morris (Stanford), Rubio Rubin (Utrecht), Bobby Wood (1860 Munich), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

Email (will not appear on the site)


Join the YA Email Alert?

Comments are moderated and will be posted if they are on-topic and free of profanity, abuse and spam. HTML and links are not allowed.